All types of Hysterectomy

Hysterectomy is the surgical removal of a woman's uterus. Removing your uterus means that you can no longer become pregnant. Hysterectomy is used to treat many women’s health conditions.

Some of these conditions include the following:

  • Uterine fibroid (this is the most common reason for hysterectomy)
  • Endometriosis
  • Pelvic support problems (such as uterine prolapse)
  • Abnormal uterine bleeding
  • Chronic pelvic pain
  • Gynecologic cancer

Hysterectomy has broadly three procedures, but the type of procedure used often depends on the condition being treated:

Vaginal Hysterectomy:

In a vaginal hysterectomy, the uterus is removed through the vagina. There is no abdominal incision. Not all women are able to have a vaginal hysterectomy. For example, women who have adhesion from previous surgery or who have a very large uterus may not be able to have this type of surgery.


Abdominal Hysterectomy:

Abdominal Hysterectomy is a one stitch surgery. The surgeon needs to consider multiple factors before making an abdominal incision.

In an abdominal hysterectomy, the uterus is removed through an incision in your lower abdomen. The opening in your abdomen gives the surgeon a clear view of your pelvic organs.

Laparoscopic Hysterectomy:

Laparoscopic surgery requires only a few small (about one-half inch long) incisions in your abdomen. A laparoscope inserted through one of these incisions allows the surgeon to see the pelvic organs. Other surgical instruments are used to perform the surgery through separate small incisions. Your uterus can be removed in small pieces through the incisions, through a larger incision made in your abdomen, or through your vagina (which is called a laparoscopic vaginal hysterectomy).